Township History

Milton Township is one of the sixteen townships of Wayne County, Ohio, United States. The 2000 census found 9,254 people in the township, 3,053 of whom lived in the unincorporated portions of the township.  In 2011, the City of Rittman withdrew from Milton Township to become Rittman Township.   
         Elevation: 1,079' (329 m)        Approximate Area: 31 sq. miles
Milton Township was organized by order of the Wayne County Commissioners on October 5, 1818.  Jacob Kiefer, one of the earliest pioneers of the township, traveled to Wooster to inquire about having the township named "Center Swamp Township", for the fact that there was a large swamp in the center of it.  Commissioner George Bair objected to the name of the sole reason that it would bring shame to the township.  At the suggestion of Bair, it was name "Milton Township".  Before the official naming, it was known as Township 18 of Range 12.
Early settlers names like; "Decourcey", "Fritz", "Doyle", "Lance", "Knupp", "Johnson" and "Cotton" are still recognized in the area today.  Small towns like Johnson's Corners (aka "Amwell"), Russell, Milton Station, Shrinersburg (New Prospect) were all within the boundaries of Milton Township. 
Photos of Milton Township and Sterling from days gone by......Thank You Jim Bischoff for contributing these photos from your collection.  If you have old photos you would like to have considered for the website, please scan and email in "jpg" format to: